RuleML+RR 2024

the 8th International Joint Conference on Rules and Reasoning

Bucharest, Romania

16 - 18 September 2024

Doctoral consortium

General Information

The RuleML+RR 8th Doctoral Consortium 2024 (DC) is an initiative of the RuleML+RR community to attract and promote student research in Artificial Intelligence, especially research on rule-based formalisms and reasoning in such formalisms. It offers students a close contact with leading experts in the field, as well as the opportunity to present and discuss their ideas in a dynamic and friendly setting. This year's DC is organized as part of Declarative AI 2024: Rules, Reasoning, Decisions, and Explanations (Bucharest, 16-18 September 2024). 

We invite PhD students at an early or intermediate stage of their PhD studies, as well as exceptional master’s students who are interested in pursuing a PhD, to submit papers describing their research on any of the topics of RuleML+RR 2024.

Submission and Publication

RuleML+RR DC papers range between 8 and 15 pages, are written in English, will be published as part of CEUR proceedings, and should follow the style template CEURART (1-column variant) available at 


They are submitted electronically in PDF together  with a maximum 2 page-long CV (the paper and the CV should be submitted together as one PDF file, but the CV is not counted within the 15 pages limit and is not published in the proceedings if the paper is accepted).

The submission should cover the following aspects: 

The accepted DC papers will be presented to an interested audience and will be discussed with a panel of senior researchers from academia and the industry. Students will present their work through brief oral presentations during a dedicated session of RuleML+RR 2024. 

Please submit your paper  via: 

to the Doctoral Consortium track.

The best paper will be awarded the RuleML+RR Best Doctoral Consortium Paper award 2024.

Important Dates

For each of these deadlines, a cut-off point of 23:59 AOE applies.



Ognjen Savkovic, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Ioana Georgiana Ciuciu, Babeș-Bolyai University, Romania

Program Committee 

Adrian Paschke, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Bas Ketsman, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Cosmin Lazar, Robert Bosch, Cluj-Napoca, Romania, Romania

Davide Lanti, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Gabriela Czibula, Babes-Bolyai University, Romania

Guohui Xiao, University of Bergen, Norway

Iuliana Bocicor, Babes Bolyai University, Romania

Julien Corman, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Shqiponja Ahmetaj, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Thanks to our sponsors